First Quarter Moon Full Moon Last Quarter Moon New Moon
First Quarter Moon Full Moon Last Quarter Moon New Moon
Sat, 18-Aug-2018 2:48am CDT
18 August 2018 07:48 GMT
Sun, 26-Aug-2018 6:56am CDT
26 August 2018 11:56 GMT
Sun, 02-Sep-2018 9:37pm CDT
03 September 2018 02:37 GMT
Sun, 09-Sep-2018 1:01pm CDT
09 September 2018 18:01 GMT


Vernal Equinox
Start of Spring
Summer Solstice
Start of Summer
Autumn Equinox
Start of Fall
Winter Solstice
Start of Winter
Start of Spring First day of Summer First day of Fall First day of Winter
Tue, 20-Mar-2018 11:15am CDT
20 March 2018 16:15 GMT
Thu, 21-Jun-2018 5:07am CDT
21 June 2018 10:07 GMT
Sat, 22-Sep-2018 8:54pm CDT
23 September 2018 01:54 GMT
Fri, 21-Dec-2018 4:23pm CST
21 December 2018 22:23 GMT

 

The four seasons are determined by changing sunlight (not heat!) - which is determined by how our planet orbits the Sun and the tilt of its axis.

At the start of spring - The Spring Equinox - day and night are approximately 12 hours long and the Sun is at the midpoint of the sky. Our north pole tilts towards the Sun.

At the Summer Solstice, the longest day of the year, the Sun is at its most northern point in the sky. After this date, the days start getting shorter.

Fall begins at the Autumn Equinox. Day and night are about 12 hours long and the Sun is at the midpoint in the sky. The north pole moves away from the Sun.

The start of winter begins with the Winter Solstice, the shortest day of the year, when the Sun is at its most southern point in the sky. From then on, the days start getting longer.